e-Governance logo e-Governance logo

Master´s Thesis

The Master’s thesis is an academic research paper and an essential piece of evidence demonstrating the student’s ability to apply the knowledge acquired during the programme within the context of a research project. The thesis stands as a representative sample of the professional quality of the student, the supervisor, and the thesis committee together with the programme, the department, and the university. The purpose of a Master’s thesis is to investigate and solve important problems in the selected area at a level worthy of a Master’s degree.







Spring 2020

  • May 1st - Check the Dean's Office that you have met all the requirements (courses, internship, etc) for defending your Master's Thesis
  • May 7th  – Submit the final version of the Master’s Thesis (1 pdf + 1 bound copy to anastasiia.dudko@taltech.ee, ICT-640 from 10:00-15:00) 
  • May 11th – Submit the application of “Defence of Graduation Thesis” in OIS for master’s level students
  • May 25th – Print out the application of “Defence of Graduation Thesis” from OIS, get the signature from the supervisor and take it to the Dean’s Office (a separate document from the supervisor's opinion!)
  • June 2-5th – Master’s Thesis Defence at 10:00 in ICT-315, IT building

NB! Additional and detailed information about documents and deadlines are updated regularly in Moodle.




Academic Supervisors

An academic supervisor is a PhD student, a lecturer, a professor or research staff at TUT who has a qualification corresponding to the level of a Master’s degree or higher.

  • Ingrid Pappel (information management and business processes, Business process reengineering, citizen-centric services and local government, knowledge management, digital archiving)
  • Dirk Draheim (architecture, design, realization and management of IT system landscapes, high-volume data-intensive systems, high-volume workflow-intensive systems, massively resource-intensive systems, highly distributed systems)
  • Regina Sirendi (service design in the public sector, proactive services)
  • Alex Norta (enterprise architecture, business processes)
  • Ermo Täks (IT law, semantics, data mining)
  • Jaak Tepandi (big data in e-governance, framework for supporting Once-Only Principle project development, data quality, quality management, standardisation)
  • Kuldar Taveter (Agent-based modelling and simulation of quantitative team work assessment methods, Analysis, formalization, and application of Ross' Business Rules Diagrams)
  • Enn Õunapuu (services, Internet of things, business modelling)
  • Innar Liiv (data mining, big data, open data, linked data)
  • Anton Vedeshin (cloud computing, cloud technologies, cloud algorithms, 3D printing, business process modelling, cyber security)
  • Tarmo Veskioja (IS architecture, services, business processes, mechanism design, decision models and decision support systems)
  • Inna Švartsman (software development technologies, testing methods, data analysis and visualisation)
  • Katrin Merike Nyman-Metcalf (Legal aspects of new technologies, especially in the communications area, including ethical issues, privacy, regulation of technologies. Legal philosophy in a high-tech environment. Legal issues of outer space activities)
  • Erki Eessaar (databases)
  • Deniss Kumlander (project management)
  • Karin Oolu (preservation of digital information, digital asset management, digital curation, digital heritage data, content management, information management, qualitative research methods)
  • Silvia Lips (identity management and eID, eIDAS and security)
  • Keegan McBride (Open Government Data, Cyber Security, Information Society, Public Service Design, Co-creation, Collaborative Governance)
  • Valentyna Tsap (e-governance Systems, Identity management)


  • Juri Mišnikov (Social impacts of digital ICTs on democratization through civic engagement and public participation including measuring e-Participation. Proficient in democratic theory including online deliberations and computer-mediated communications)
  • Liia Hänni (Current practices of using ICT for innovative and open governance, perspectives of online deliberative democracy, legislative openness)
  • Archil Chochia (European Union, European Integration, EU Neighbourhood Policy, Law and Technology)
  • Priit Parmakson (planning of state information system, interoperability between systems)
  • Liivi Karpištšenko (Records Management, Document Exchange Center; Public electronic services)
  • Relika Metsallik-Koppel (Public electronic services)
  • Ingmar Pappel (Service orientation, public sector solutions related to paperless management) 
  • Kaido Kikkas (Free and open-source software, Internet culture, Digital safety, Assistive solutions for people with disabilities)
  • Sirje Ustav (Development of education in entrepreneurship)

Additional Reading

Sources for Scientific Articles, Research Papers and Books

Binderies at TalTech campus